AM Colorado

ERIK RIEGER

A Midwest transplant, I first discovered climbing at Colorado College, where alpinism became a major obsession in my life. Since then, I’ve been lucky to pursue climbing throughout the U.S. and internationally, all while working with the American Alpine Journal. I now live in Ridgway, Colorado working as a part-time bread baker and when not climbing focus on mountain running and skiing. 

KURT ROSS

Based in Boulder CO, I’m just another millennial with a squiggling life-course, using climbing as an excuse to see more of the world. I enable my adventures by working as a freelance motion graphics artist, animating parts of climbing films, ad content for tech & outdoor companies, and science media for museums & planetariums. I love every style of climbing, but I find my psyche focusing more toward winter-style alpinism all of the time. I’ve been lucky enough to spend a solid amount of time climbing in the AK Range & Canadian Rockies for my age, but I’m eager to see more, sharpen my teeth, and push harder on bigger & more technical objectives. I’m a diehard bike commuter, hopeless caffeine addict, and abashed anime enthusiast.


NIK MIRHASHEMI

I grew up in the San Juans of SW Colorado. I didn't really discover climbing until I moved up to Boulder for school. Before that racing and training for track and cross country took up any free time I had. I guess I took up a more traditional approach to climbing in that I crossed my first bergshrund before ever clipping a bolt or setting foot in a gym. I started out scrambling 4th class rocky peaks in Colorado and snowy volcanoes in Ecuador. Eventually I decided it was time to throw a rope on and began learning to lead sport, trad and ice routes. Since then I have climbed all over the western US including two trips to the Central AK Range, as well as Peru and Chile. I also spend a lot of my time as a mountain guide in the Pacific NW and in Ouray as an ice climbing guide. I suppose you have to work sometimes. If I'm not climbing and the weather isn't terrible there is likely something wrong. Or maybe I'm just out skiing.

JD MERRITT

Born in Boise, Idaho in 1992, I started scrambling alone in the Sawtooths as a 13 year old. As a nordic skier and cyclist I seemed to have the best results when conditions were heinous, pitting the racers against the course and themselves, rather than each other. I learned that I wasn’t competitive, I just loved to suffer.  When I found climbing as a 15 year old in Lander, Wyoming I was swept away completely. I balanced the study of mathematics and physics at Colorado College with an overwhelming passion for winter climbing and ski-mountaineering. The things that stick with me: surreal views, hallucinations from sleep deprivation, gripping ski descents, and deep friendships. For most of the year I work with a solar install crew. I love hard music, figure drawing, and bolting sport-mixed rooflines. I have a tabby-cat named Ueli.